Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes November 16, 2017 3:00 – 5:00 p.m. Reitz Union Chamber

David Quillen, chair, called the meeting to order at 3:05 p.m. and the October minutes were approved.

Chair's Report

David Quillen, Faculty Senate Chair

- Reminder: December 7 Senate meeting location is the McKnight Auditorium at the Brain Institute.
- Nominations for councils and committees for fall 2018 are open until end of January 2018.
- Plans on writing a report on faculty retirement comparing us to the majority of the AAU universities.

President's Report

Kent Fuchs, President

- Voiced concern about how the federal tax reform law that the US Legislature is drafting and its negative impact on our students and universities.
 - Any reduction in tuition that we give to graduate students will be taxed. Tuition waivers will be taxable for students.
 - o Any tuition benefits given to dependents of employees at universities.
 - o At private universities the law will tax some payouts for endowments.
 - o Will lower capital withdrawal of Florida pre-pay capping it at \$10,000 annually
 - o Eliminate deduction for federal student loan interest payments.
 - Repeals the rule that allows alumni to deduct 80% of their amount that they pay to purchase athletic tickets as a donation.
 - Constrain the ability to issue private bonds for athletic facilities
 - o Subject certain income that we get form licensing, logos and naming to taxes.
- UF is asking the state legislature for \$76M for enhance the stature of the institution: 1) graduate programs, 2) recruiting new faculty 3) compensating existing faculty. Also requesting funds for infrastructure maintenance and utilities, along with for funds for two buildings: Music Building and Information Technology Building.
- Two searches are ongoing:
 - o Vice President and General Counsel Search Committee Chair is Charlie Lane
 - Chief Diversity Officer Search Committee Chair is Cammy Abernathy

Provost's Report

Joe Glover, Provost

- Continuing search for new Director of Harn Museum of Art. Angel Kwolek-Folland, Associate Provost, Academic and Faculty Affairs, is chairing the search committee
- New search for Dean of College of the Arts. Lucinda Lavelli will retired end of this fiscal year.
- Dean John Kraft has agreed to continue as College of Business Dean for the next two years.
- The Provost is in the process of negotiating with each college dean the appropriate market based stipend that will allow us to compete effectively with our peers around the country. Starting fall 2018, UF will provide incoming doctoral candidates nationally competitive stipends for incoming students who are on state funded graduate assistantships. In the next four to five years, UF will phase in a new policy that these students will be appointed on .5 time.



Action Items:

Degree Termination:

- BS Athletic Training
 - o This item was approved.

Angel Kwolek-Folland, Associate Provost

Academic and Faculty Affairs

Information Items:

Name Change

Angel Kwolek-Folland, Associate Provost

- Dept of Health Outcomes and Policy
- Academic and Faculty Affairs
- Requesting that the Department of Health Outcomes and Policy is renamed to Health Outcomes and Biomedical Informatics

Graduate Council

Paul Duncan, Sr. Associate Dean

- Change MA in DAS from 36 to 30 credits
- Graduate School
- Master of Arts in Digital Arts & Sciences requests modification of credit hours
- Terminate Master of Science in Nursing
 - o College of Nursing requests to close the Master of Science in Nursing degree

Rename Honorary Degree, Distinguished Alumnus

Richard Scholtz, Chair

Awards and Memorial Committee

Constitution Committee

• Honorary Degrees, Distinguished Alumnus Awards and Memorials Committee asks to rename to Honorary Degrees and Distinguished Awards Committee.

Resolution in opposition to legislation allowing computer coding courses to substitute for foreign language study

David Quillen, Chair

Faculty Senate

• Last year a proposal came before the legislature to allow computer coding courses to substitute for a foreign language study for admission to college. It will probably come before the legislature again this year. Several Florida University Faculty Senates have written resolutions against this legislation.

Positioning UF Faculty on the National Stage

Steve Orlando, National Media Strategist University Relations

• Steve Orlando gave a short presentation on what the University Relations department offers to faculty. He encourages faculty to contact University Relations to help promote the university and let media know all the great work of UF Faculty.

Faculty Honors and Awards

David Reed, Provost Fellow

- UF Faculty receive fewer awards than peers at other institutions even though UF's faculty are
- UF lacks the infrastructure for supporting significant award nominations.
- Plans are to build out infrastructure and change culture to value and prioritize faculty honors and awards.
- Plan of Action:
 - Appoint a team dedicated to faculty nominations
 - Central web site for all information
 - A database to facilitate more nominations



- o Robust internal awards program at UF
- Nominate more faculty
- Celebrate their success

Open discussion from Senate Floor

- Senators
 - o Meera Sitharam asked for clarification of the graduate stipend program.
- All UF faculty
 - Paul Ortiz asked the senate to approve a resolution to support paying OPS workers who lost wages during the Hurricane Irma and the Richard Spencer event. Dr. Ortiz will speak with Dr. Quillen after the meeting to find out the process.

Meeting adjourned at 4:03 p.m.

Attending

Senators John Abbitt Sophia Acord **Damian Adams** Abhinav Alakshendra Luis Alvarez-Castro Wayne Archer Dorina Avram Jim Bice Victoria Bird Vincent Bird Helene Blondeau Rori Bloom Lyle Brenner Kristy Breuhl Smith Judy Callahan Clay Calvert **Charles Cobb** Christa Cook Tammy Davidson Jeffrey Davis Kara Dawson John Diaz Keith Diem John Erickson Daniel Estrada Tammy Euliano **Hugh Fan** Michael Fang

Ben Fernandez Joshua Freeman Paul Gader Joseph Gagnon Macy Geiger

Marc Heft Volker Mai Kalen Manasco Mario Poceski **David Quillen** Keith Rambo Andrew Rosalsky Elizabeth Ross Susan Schaffer Keith Schneider Richard Scholtz James Seale **Amy Simonne** Meera Sitharam Patricia Sohn Lauren Solberg Ravi Srinivasan Richard Stepp

Matthew Gurka Scott Thompson Youssef Haddad Patrick Troy Carrie Harmon Hans van Oostrom Katie Vogel-Anderson Susan Hegeman Christopher Vulpe Michael Kane Jay Watkins **Dennis Kramer** Ratree Wayland Mei-Fang Lan Phil Wegner Nicole Whitehead Margaret Lo Ashley MacSuga-Gage R. David Whitley Hui Zou

Robert McCleerv Liaisons William McGehee Kent Fuchs Phyllis Hendry Joe Glover **Scott Myers** Angel Kwolek-Folland Ashley Booth Norse Ann Wehmeyer Hannah Norton **Brandi Ormerod** Students

Punam Amratia Sloan Bochman

> Guests Jesse Cosner Eva Czarnecka-Verner

Jason Fults David Freeman Daphna Krause Brian K Marchman

Paul Ortiz David Reed Timothy Tia

Jeremiah Tattersall



Ray Thomas